PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice...

snowflakegirl
11-02-2007, 09:49 AM
DH and I have been planning a WDW vacation (hopefully) with my parents and sister for this coming August.

I recently found out about a national conference that's happening in Orlando at the end of June that I'm going to attempt to go to. My question for all of you Intercotees is: Should we consider moving our trip up so that it comes on the tail end of the conference and I only have to make one trek down to FL this summer? Or keep things as they are. Attendence-wise any idea how croweded June 24th - July 1st would be over August 13th - 20th? Temperature? Anything else I should be thinking about?

I know ideally summer is not necessarilly the best time to go, and I'm not crazy about the idea, but I'm a school psychologist so I only have school vacations as an option. My sister's college is on a shorter year than typical colleges so when my spring break is in April is the week before finals start for her and not a time when she join us. My family went during the summer when we were kids, but I don't really remember typical crowdedness, heat, etc and it's been a while so things change.

Thanks! :mickey:

faline
11-02-2007, 09:53 AM
Both time frames will be crowded, hot, and humid. Personally, I'd want to keep the conference separate from my family vacation.

illini
11-02-2007, 11:32 AM
I didn't see the resort pricing for 2008 here on Intercot, but if it stays similar to 2007, you'll be looking at about a $25/night difference on the room. Your dates in August fall during 2007's value season, and June in summer season. I also think that you'd be cutting it awfully close to the July 4th crowds. That late in August, I think the crowds would be slightly less, especially toward the end of your trip.

I also agree with Faline about keeping them separate.

Personally, I'd stick with August.

WishingStar2006
11-02-2007, 11:41 AM