PDA

View Full Version : Disney and MILITARY Veterans

Grim Grinning Marathon Runner
09-20-2007, 09:56 AM
I know that historically, Disney has gone to great lengths to honor our military veterans, and has had several special packages and promotions for veterans only. I think this is a great, noble, and honorable thing for Disney to do, but I KNOW that Disney goes beyond just giving discounts to honor our military.

I've heard several stories about how castmembers (and sometimes other guests) have done special things for a veteran, and I'd love to see some more.

If you're a veteran and experienced some magic, or you've seen a special moment with a veteran, please share it with me.

ibrowse17
09-20-2007, 10:01 AM
As a Gulf War vet, I was very proud to be apart of the flag retreat :flag:on Main Street. I have seen much older vet's taking part in that be very moved by it. I fully understand how they feel:thumbsup:

Marilyn Michetti
09-20-2007, 08:48 PM
I, also, was Veteran of The Day in the MK on Dec. 14, 2004, at the age of 60, and it was VERY moving.

Other than that, and being able to stay at SOG, there isn't much out of the ordinary for Veterans. Sea World allows free admission for active duty personnel, and reserves, and that would be terrific if Disney did also.

FYI, military aren't the only ones eligible for the Flag Retreat. I believe police and fire fighters can participate.:flag:

Dracula766
09-21-2007, 10:41 PM
On my last trip in June I went to MK with my brother who was a combat medic in Iraq and My best friend Marc who is a pilot that is regularly deployed to the middle east.

I think it woulda been cool for them to do the flag retreat (which neither of them knew existed) but it didn't occur to me til the next day. I felt really bad that I missed that opportunity to help show them my appreciation for what they've done.

So next time I'll be sure to make plans for that :flag:

mizzoumouse
09-21-2007, 11:46 PM