PDA

View Full Version : Gate Checking items?

mickey&missy
08-31-2007, 06:03 PM
Is there limit to what you can gate check? I've never done this before.

We'll have DS stroller and, depending on his size then, either his infant car seat that is part of a travel system or a larger car seat.

Can I gate check both? If not, what do I do?

Beast_fanatic
08-31-2007, 10:10 PM
I've heard of people having car seats with them at the gate in hopes of getting an empty seat for their youngster (when they didn't buy a seat for them). In these cases, if there was no empty seat available, the car seats got gate checked. And, you can definitely gate check your stroller.

Can I ask why you're wanting to gate check the car seat? If you're using Magical Express, you won't be able to use the car seat on the bus, and if you're getting a rental car (or towncar) and you want it for that, you'll have to wait for your other checked luggage anyway, so you could just check your car seat along with your luggage. I just see lugging it around the airport to be quite a chore.

tiaramom
08-31-2007, 10:23 PM
i HAD THE TRAVEL SYSTEM
AND WE CHECKED OUR STROLLER AND CARRIER/CARSEAT AT GATE. ( THE PART THAT SNAPS INTO STROLLER) WE CHECKED OUR BOOT ( ATTACHES TO CAR) WITH OUR REG. BAGGAGE. WE DIDNT TAKE DISNEYS MAGICAL EXPRESS THAT TIME.

Sean Riley Taylor's Mom
09-01-2007, 01:25 AM
We always use our DD's car seat on the plane for her to sit in so I am not sure about gate checking that.
I would think they would though, as I have seen the same thing as another poster with parents bringing their car seat in case they can get an empty seat for their child without a purchased seat. They just gate check them if all seats are filled. If that is the case, I would make sure you get a car seat bag for it. I would get worried it would get kind of dirty.