PDA

View Full Version : What is Pin Trading all About?

julyjewel
08-24-2007, 12:23 PM
I am fairly new to Intercot and just took my first WDW trip 3 weeks ago. My kids got pins at our resort giftshop because the clerk messed up the total. What is pin trading all about? DO they have values or something? My son got a Chip n Dale Pirate pin and my daughter got two Tinkerbell year of a million dreams pin. One for and one to give to a special friend. I noticed they both had Disney Pin Trading 2007 on the back. I thougth I'd check out this section to see what the pins were all about. Thanks.:mickey:

DizneyRox
08-24-2007, 01:34 PM
It's known as a money sink

Pins cost pennies to produce, however are sold for 10s of dollars. They are created to resemble people's favorite characters in order to prompt compulsive purchases. Some are even markets as Limited Edition pins with a set number of pins created. Often those command even more $$ for the honor of finding/purchasing them.

I have not found a way to make money with pins. I have some very rare pins in my collection all have no real value until sold. And the price I can get depends on if people are looking for them. If you really want to get into pin trading (I would suggest NOT getting involved though)pic ONE character and work on that. Only buy pins that fit your theme. Personally I don't worry too much about trading with others. Too many "sharks" out there taking advantage of people.

Clotho
08-24-2007, 02:24 PM
Wow, what a dismal view!

Well, I for one am not at all interested in trying to make money off of my pin collection. I do it for the fun of it. It can be expensive, but as DisneyRox suggested, if you stick to one character or theme, it can be more like a scavenger hunt, and you will keep from overspending.