PDA

View Full Version : Just the 10 of Us...The Brown Family's Trip to WDW!- Day 3 (Universal Studios)

cjb121879
07-13-2007, 07:24 AM
:secret:The next morning we rushed through the gates at the Studios and the park looked pretty empty, though we were there around 30 minutes after opening. We ran back to Revenge of the Mummy (which I had been dying to ride since my 2004 visit when I saw they were building it) and found only a 5 minute wait. We ran through the queue (a real shame since it looked pretty elaborate and interesting) and had next to no wait to get on. Let me tell you, Universal really seems to have the child swap thing down. I was very impressed- it was on par and in some cases better than WDW’s. We explained that we needed child swap and went into a room where they had mummy-themed cartoon playing (not scary):tv: and waited in comfort for the first half of our group to get off the ride. The employee even told my sister and two cousins that they could ride again with us:coaster:! This was my most highly anticipated ride of the trip and it didn’t disappoint. How to describe it? Part roller-coaster, part dark (read: scary) ride- completely mind-blowing. From the scarab beetle effect, to the fire effects, to the part where it seems you are rushing into Imhotep’s mouth to the twist at the end, it was fantastic. If you get a chance, go experience it! Immediately after getting off, we got on it again. It was that good. One thing to note- you cannot bring anything on the ride with you. They have lockers just outside the front entrance to the ride where you can leave your things for free while you ride. You just pick them up when you get off. Also, the lock mechanism uses a finger scan and it automatically assigns you a locker. A few other rides at this park had these lockers, too.