PDA

View Full Version : The Zen of Disney: Pre-trip report

TooGoofy
06-29-2007, 10:11 AM
Cast: Meg: 43: trip planner and tour guide; 6th trip to the world
Dave: 51: general all around great guy: 6th trip to the world

A special note: Dave suffered a stroke in 2003 due to untreated high blood pressure. He is 99.9% recovered (thank God), but he has some trouble with his balance and needs his rest periods. Therefore, we tend to take it slow and easy when we go to WDW. Don’t expect a commando trip from us!

How this trip started: We had been planning to go back to WDW in 2007 anyway, plus after our quick trip after the AP Annual Conference last summer, we had AP’s and wanted to use them! We came home last July, unpacked, did laundry, and immediately started planning our trip for this year. We chose July, because 1) I am a teacher and we are pretty much restricted to the summer months to travel and 2) we wanted to stay at AKL concierge and we knew that the value rates would start July 8. Honestly, it was hot last July, no one can deny that, but it was bearable. Our strategy was to hit the EMH park in the morning, stay until about 11 or 12, head back to our hotel to shower and nap, and then head out at around 5 pm or so to the evening EMH park. It worked great for us!