PDA

View Full Version : GC vs DH

Roo Girl
06-21-2007, 08:58 AM
Hi all! I currently have a ressie for the Grand Californian with a DCA view- but I heard the GC isn't on the monorail. Since the hotels are all so close to the park (so I hear, haven't been to DL ever) is it just as good to stay at the Disneyland Hotel with a Premium view to be on the monorail? I am struggling with this since I have no experience with DL yet. Thanks! :mickey:

NotaGeek
06-21-2007, 12:15 PM
The great thing about Disneyland is technically ALL the hotels are "on the Monorail"! It's only about 10 a 10 minute walk through DTD from any of the 3 hotels to the entrance to either Disneyland or California Adventure, and the Monorail Entrance is about 5 minutes or so walk from Disneyland Hotel, or Paradise Pier. BUT, if you stay at the GC then you might be right by the entrance to DTD, which is about a 5 minute walk from the security check point into the Entrance Plaza.

All the hotels are close! It's great and you will LOVE the proximity!

tinkwest
06-21-2007, 06:13 PM
I would not change a reservation based on the monorail. The difference in distance from the GCH to the DTD monorail station and the DLH to the DTD monorail station is just minutes. Looking at it in those terms, the GCH (although once again, only by minutes) is closer to both main park entrances. I guess I'm just really repeating everything NotaGeek said!!

future_imagineer
06-26-2007, 10:59 AM
We are staying at GCH in a little less than a month, and it is my understanding that GCH has a private entrance gate to DCA, and is about a three minute walk away from the plaza that separates the main turnstiles of DL and DCA.

drevlo
06-27-2007, 07:22 AM
Future imagineer is correct.
The GCH does have an alternative entrance to DCA.
We stayed at the GCH for the first time last October, and one of the main things that stood out to us was how much closer the Hotel was to the parks then the other two "on property" Hotels.