PDA

View Full Version : Why is DL Space mountain better?

markr09
06-05-2007, 11:58 AM
I am a big fan of Space Mountain at the Magic Kingdom. I have never been to Disney Land but all I keep hearing is how much better SM is out there then it is in Orlando. Can anyone tell me what the big difference is? Is it faster, smoother, better themed? I am very curious.

KAJUNKING
06-05-2007, 12:07 PM
i think what your hearing is because sm in dl got a refurb, and the one in mk did not, im sure someone who knows dl will be along in a minute to clear this up for you

Figment78
06-05-2007, 12:57 PM
Is it faster, smoother, better themed? I am very curious.

Yes, yes, and yes. I'm a WDW veteran who just returned from DL and was really surprised at the difference! DL's space mountain has music (does WDW? I never noticed), it's two seats across (instead of 3 in a row), it's smoother, and you do not see the ride while you are standing in line, so it seems a bit more of a surprise. In my opinion, it was also darker. I did miss looking up at the "sky" and watching the meteors while waiting in line, but the ride made up for it.

Very fun ride. Just seemed to have more energy than the one in MK.

2Epcot
06-05-2007, 01:44 PM
Disneyland shut down Space Mountain for what seemed like forever, and completly rebuilt the track. The wait was certainly worth it. The ride is very smooth, great musical soundtrack. I like the side-by-side seating. The entry to the vehicles is nicer then WDW. On a scale to 1-10 I would give Disneyland's Space Mountain a 10, and WDW's only a 7.

*tinker_belle*
06-05-2007, 01:47 PM