PDA

View Full Version : Sending luggage to resort UPS ahead

bmj721
05-03-2007, 06:04 PM
I was reading on a website about sending the luggage ahead via UPS or another carrier instead of relying on the airlines and then just bringing a small carry-on. I realize it could be pricey. Does anyone have actual experiance with this? We have sent boxes home for the past 3 trips and it worked out great. I just haven't ever sent the suitcase on before me. We leave the end of May.
:confused:

Beast_fanatic
05-03-2007, 09:00 PM
I've heard of others sending boxes of supplies (like snacks or diapers) ahead of time, and of sending boxes of dirty clothes home, but I haven't heard of anyone doing exactly as you've suggested. Hopefully, if someone has done this, they'll be along soon with details...

KylesMom
05-04-2007, 12:24 AM
Although I've never sent actual luggage UPS or FedEx, I regularly send large travel cases and portfolios for work-related trade shows and such so I have some experience with this. In fact, I just sent 200+ pounds of items to Orlando for the National Hardware Show next week via FedEx ground - too bad I'm not going with the shipment! ;)

Realizing that each suitcase you send is going to be in between 20-50 pounds, and possibly be considered "oversized" by the carriers, my opinion is that the cost would be more of a burden than transporting it with you on the plane. After all, that's part of what you're paying for with your ticket.

Yes, my family does send a large box down with snacks and other travel-related items via FedEx 3-day delivery which is considered Ground, but it still adds up. We also religiously have boxes of souvenirs sent back by World of Disney - but once again, the weight and size limits are not prohibitive.