PDA

View Full Version : First time flying and traveling with a camcorder

whymsycalwitch
04-15-2007, 08:14 PM
We got a new camcorder for Christmas this year and I want to bring it with me on our upcoming trip (26 days to go) to Las Vegas and DL. I have never flown with one and I have a few quick questions.

I have a Sony Handycam DVD. It takes the small DVD disks. I know I will have to take it completely out of the bag and send it threw the x-ray machine alone. Has anyone ever labeled their camcorder with their name and maybe address or phone number, just in case? And how and where did you label it?

Are the blank, used and not formatted DVD disks safe threw the x-ray machine? I am still living in the age of when you had to carry all of your film onto the plane because the x-ray machines could destroy your film. Since I have no experience with these DVD disks and how hard or easy it is to mess them up I just want to be sure they will be ok.

Are there any other helpful hints or suggestions I should know about having a DVD camcorder in the parks? Like, tips on recording the parades or things I should focus on?

Just so you have an idea of what kind of people we are, (and I know there are others out there just like me) my last trip to WDW I took over 900 pictures, in 6 days, it was my mom's first trip there so I had to capture everything. And she is planning to take video of our luggage and us leaving the house and the train station, and the airport and the ride to the hotel because this time we can have it on video.

Thanks as always for your help!

peemagg
04-15-2007, 09:59 PM