PDA

View Full Version : Taxi fare?

marlyn
04-11-2007, 06:34 PM
I was just wondering if you have any idea how much it would be to take Taxi from DTD to Goodings or any other grocery store that would be close? I know Goodings is fairly pricey. Is there something close that would be cheaper? This is my first time without a rental vehicle!

Thanks. I am actually staying at ASMo...but figured I could bus to DTD then catch taxi if that would be cheaper than going right from ASMo.

Is it even worth my while to bother?

Imalismom
04-11-2007, 08:41 PM
Okay, I just called a Taxi service in Orlando to check on the costs for you. The gentleman I spoke to said if you are going to take a Taxi, it would be better to go the 3 extra miles to the Winn Dixie where all the locals go. The cost are much cheaper there.

He said the Taxi meter would be approx $15.00 each way going from All Stars - I did not ask about from downtown Disney. I then called Mears, and they said a 3 mile trip is $7.75 , a 4 mile is $9.75, a 6 mile is $13.75, an 11 mile is $23.75, and a 13 mile is $27.75. Basically its $3.75 the first mile and then $2 a while afterwards is a good estimater.

The first gentleman I talked to said exactly what I was going to ask you - How are you getting to All Stars? If you are taking a local town car service, most will stop for free for 30 minutes to do some quick grocery shopping. Have you considered doing this?

An alternative might be to take the bus to Downtown Disney and walk down Hotel Plaza Blvd to SR 535 (it's about 3/4 of a mile). Across the road is Goodings, then cab it back to your hotel with your stuff.

Hopefully this will help with your planning.

marlyn
04-11-2007, 08:54 PM
Okay, I just called a Taxi service in Orlando to check on the costs for you.

This is what makes INTERCOT such an awesome place...people going the extra mile to help others. :mickey: Thank you so much for phoning and asking for me! I appreciate it very much.