PDA

View Full Version : WHAT ARE "Hidden Mickeys"?

WinnipegDisneyFanatic
03-19-2007, 12:26 AM
Yes...this might be the stupidest question ever asked in the history of WDW questions...and I've heard so much about them but am still confused...what can people tell me about Hidden Mickeys...what are they...where are they...what do you get if you find them...why were they made...as a journalist I guess I gotta ask all the questions on them lol.

Where can people look for them? How many are there?

If anyone can help me out that'd be great! We're going in May and I'd like to be on the lookout for them.

Chris :hatter:

GrumpyFan
03-19-2007, 12:43 AM
Hidden Mickeys are Mickey silhouettes (large circle with two smaller circles on top :mickey: ) conveniently placed/hidden in various places throughout Disney parks and attractions. They are almost everywhere, but you have to look for them. There is at least one book that tells how to find them and a couple web-sites as well. There are no prizes for finding them, just the personal satisfaction and fun that comes in the hunt.

cubbie
03-19-2007, 12:49 AM
Hidden Mickeys are the imagineers tribute to the mouse. Most of the time, they are the traditional Mickey tri-circle design (1 big circle, with two smaller "ear" circles). They are found on many attractions, and even some restaurants. You don't get anything if you find them, aside from the pride that comes along with having a keen eye. A couple of my favorites include the Mickey and Donald hieroglyphic in the Indiana Jones room on the Great Movie Ride, the plates in the shape of Mickey's head in the ballroom scene of the Haunted Mansion, and the Mickey head on the golfball on Soarin'. There are many websites out there that actually list where Hidden Mickeys can be found. I hope this helped a little bit to give insight about the phenomenon that is the Hidden Mickey.
Oh, and to answer the question of why they were made, I'll turn it around on you and ask, why not?

Womble