PDA

View Full Version : Working Nights

DisneyDudet
03-16-2007, 12:29 PM
OK, some of you know I've started working as an RN in a hospital. I got word that after my internship is over, I'm going to work nights. I knew I probably would be doing that, but oh well.

I want to know any strategies for working nights. How do you sleep during the day? Things like that.

I would really appreciate it!

mrsgaribaldi
03-16-2007, 12:52 PM
Congratulations!!! I have been working nights for 14 years, ever since I became a nurse. The night shift is the best. People who works nights are totally different from day people. I have always found that the people who works nights work together much more than days, usually because they are short staffed in some way. ;) I think you will really like nights. It's always less busy with bosses and managers and people like that.
My best advice is to try and keep the same schedule, even on the nights you are off. I don't think you have kids so this could be easy for you. Get a sleep mask, dark blinds and curtains. I have a window darkening shade in my kitchen and black curtains in all my rooms. I hope you are working 12 hours shifts so that you can enjoy more time off. But when you are off, still try to sleep in the day time. My best sleep is in the early morning, and late afternoon. If there will be noise in the day time when you are trying to sleep, try a sound machine or earplugs. Many times I've had to use ear plugs during the summer months or when construction was being done.
Don't drink alot of caffeine to soon before you plan on going to bed too so it doesn't keep you awake.
I should be sleeping now since I worked the last 2 nights and I'm back to work tonight at 7pm. I'm really bummed that we sprung ahead so early because I hate going to work when it's still light out:(