PDA

View Full Version : Photographer Needs Tips From Photographers

imaginos
03-13-2007, 05:01 PM
Hello, I'm an amateur photographer going to Disney World for the first time in May 2007, and I will be bringing along some of my equipment and hoping to get some good shots with my Nikon D80 SLR. I plan on bringing a speedlight and a monopod, although my 70-300 mm lens is VR, so I may not need the mono.

I'm looking for some advice from experienced photographers who have gone before me. Not necessarily on good places to take photos (I'm sure there are plenty of those - but if you have a couple good places I'll take those tips too!), but what I'm really after are things like
- when should I leave the camera in the hotel (in the safe of course) and when I should bring it along?
- can I take my equipment (speedlight, camera and lenses on the rides with me as long as they are secured in a camera bag? Are camera bags about the size of a women's medium purse allowed on rides, and If not on all, which ones prohibit it? And if not specifically prohibited, are there any really rough ones I'd be better off not going on with the camera bag? Are monopods allowed?

Pretty much any tips/info on topics like above is what I'm interested in.

Any photographers wish to help another out?

Thanks!

imaginos

Bringonthemouse!
03-13-2007, 06:06 PM
I too am a photo-aholic. My only advice to you is be careful you don't see your entire vacation through a camera lense. That is what I did last year and when we got home, I regretted it terribly. I feel I missed out on a lot of the little details Disney has to offer.
Enjoy, and have a fantastic vacation!
:mickey:

Bringonthemouse!
03-13-2007, 06:08 PM
Oh, and :welcome: to intercot!

c4jc04
03-13-2007, 07:03 PM