PDA

View Full Version : ECVs - General Usage and Tips

pshokie
02-12-2007, 02:36 PM
Please be gentle, I am a newbie. :blush:

First off, let me say thank you to every last one of you on Intercot!. :rocks: I have been lurking for the past few months getting all kinds of valuable tips.

We (myself, DW, DD4, DS1, MIL) will be going to WDW for our first ever resort stay this May (Polynesian). While my DW and I have both been to parts of WDW, both together and separate, this will be our first true WDW experience for any of us. So we know a little of what to expect, but this time will be a very different.

My MIL has limited mobility (walk short distances, stand for short periods), and would require the use of an ECV to get around WDW.

Can those of you who have had experience with EVCs (both park rental & outside rental) please provide me with any information regarding the use of an ECV? We are going to get an ECV for my MIL during our stay, but none of the adults in our party (MIL included) have ever used one. I am looking for any helpful information that will prep not only my MIL but my DW and myself as well for what lay ahead. In short, I want to be prepared.

As an example to start off the discussion, I will provide a few bits I have obtained. First, I have read that the ramps used to get on/off the monorail are very narrow. Even the most seasoned ECV driver may have some issues using the monorail. Second, I have seen some information stating that all buses can now accommodate ECVs, but what is the process for getting the ECV on the bus?

Again, any and all information would be greatly appreciated. As I said, we have never used one before.

Buttercup
02-12-2007, 03:05 PM