PDA

View Full Version : Camping Question

Stu29573
09-12-2006, 10:40 AM
I've never camped at Disney, but my new wife has an older dog that can't be left alone all night (actually she probably can be, but we prefer not to) She can be alone all day with no problem, though. Therefore, we figured that camping might be the way to go so we could take the dog and not have to leave her in a kennel.
That being said, we were wondering about the feasibility of renting an RV in Orlando and using it to camp in Fort Wilderness. Has anyone ever done this, or is it not a good idea? I'm really new to the whole concept... :mickey:

CJDDS
09-12-2006, 12:35 PM
It can be done, but ends up being pretty expensive. You would also have to check to be sure the RV rental place would allow pets in the RV.

Stu29573
09-12-2006, 02:04 PM
Hmmmm...After checking prices, etc, I'm kind of thinking that buying a used pop-up with A/C would be most cost effective (plus we could use it over and over)...Now if I can talk the wife into it... :secret:

CJDDS
09-12-2006, 04:25 PM
Just tell her you will take care of all the cooking. It worked with me.

FloridaTeacher
09-12-2006, 06:17 PM
Just make sure Disney will allow you to have a dog in a pop-up. Some campgrounds allow animals only in hard side rvs.

23 Days, 21 Hours til we're back at Fort Wilderness.
Happy Camping!

CJDDS
09-12-2006, 07:22 PM
As a matter of fact, FW doesn't allow pets unattended in pop ups.

Stu29573
09-12-2006, 09:49 PM
How about in the kennel during the day and with us at night?

FloridaTeacher
09-12-2006, 10:14 PM
I think that is a FABULOUS idea! Our dogs go, but they stay in our motorhome (actually we bought the motorhome for our Bassett Hound who has back problems, we also have a yorkie). Your proposal is exactly what we would do if we did not have a m/h. Okay - how many Bassett Hounds do you know that have their own motor home????

23 Days 17 Hours til we're back WDW and Fort Wilderness!
Happy Camping!

Stu29573