PDA

View Full Version : Taking Kids Out of School

imported_Melanears
04-20-2002, 09:12 AM
I have a question and am hoping you all will give me your feelings about this. My oldest DS is getting ready to start school this fall. My DH and I have been talking about another trip to WDW, but we've never had to plan around school before. You see, I like to go during off periods, like January and October. I wouldn't ever say never, but it's a high possibility that I wouldn't ever step foot into WDW during June, July or August. :eek:

So, finally, here's the question, how do you guys feel about taking the kids out of school for a trip to WDW? Have you guys done that before? Thanks for your insight.

MKPlutoGuy
04-20-2002, 09:22 AM
Since I'm a student, I can give you our whole perspective on this:

For elementry school aged children, it really shouldn't be a problem. As with anything, you should always tell the teacher as soon as you know you are going that your son/daughter will be missing some school. If you wish, you can have the teacher send home the missed work for the child to do on the airplane/car/or on the way there.

For high school aged students (me) its much more difficult to miss school, because we have regular homework, on top of projects, tests and quizzes to prepare. It would overwhelm me if I had to make up a week's worth of assignments.

Anyway, I think it is well worth it to miss some school and go during the off season-crowds are much more managable, and its not so darn hot! smile.gif

Clay Ransone
04-20-2002, 09:24 AM
I would say take the kids out of school. My folks did that twice with me, the last time when I was in Jr. High, and I experienced no academic ills. You can usually get the class work before you leave and little man (or woman) can work on is some on the way down. I would not try and have the kids do work while at Disney since that would kill the mood.

TiggerRPh
04-20-2002, 09:28 AM