PDA

View Full Version : Valet Parking for Dummies

astronomyboy1
06-23-2002, 07:12 PM
OK, I admit I've never done this before so I know nothing about it. What happens: you give your keys to somebody and they disappear with your car? Do they come back with the keys? When do they get tipped? HELP!!

AB1

Jeff
06-23-2002, 10:12 PM
Although not an expert ( I like to know where my car is in case I need anything from it) I have done this a few times. You leave your car with the valet and they drive it out to the parking lot. They then give you a piece of identification. When you come back to get your car you give them the ID and they go and get your car for you. You tip when they bring the car back – not when they take it to park.

However, I have read recently that the resorts with valet parking are now charging you $6 for the service. It used to be “free”.

bemster
06-23-2002, 10:29 PM
Although you are supposed to tip when they bring the car back, you may want to think about giving the valet a little something when you give the keys to him/her so they take good care of your car. smile.gif

Disneypro
06-24-2002, 12:25 AM
I've said it before...the valets are the most underappreciated CMs at WDW. If you need directions or a bit of info, a lot of the time these are the guys who can get it done. This is what I had to say about one of the valets at the Wilderness Lodge a couple of weeks ago:

When we left Boma the sky was really scary looking. We're talking four horsemen of the apocalypse scary. We learned that the entire property was on a weather alert and that it was hailing in the Magic Kingdom. So we headed to the lodge to get coats and while we were there Angel, who is the sweetest valet going, called all the checkpoints between the lodge and PI to see what we should expect. It was raining at PI so he gave us umbrellas so we could weather the storm and meet the gang.

Note to Eisner: