PDA

View Full Version : Representation of Women in Disney

Bobs
12-07-2004, 03:02 PM
I am a college student and I am carrying out a critical research
project for my Media course. The project is to find the relationship
between Disney women and film
I am conducting primary research and would like some opinions. Just for ideas? You could answer some of the questions below to get you started!

1) do you think women in disney films portray a positive message to
young women?

2) Ariel was critised for giving the message that young women should
leave homes, firends and family behind to be with the one they loved. Belle was critised for giving young girls the message that if you have an abusive partner you can change him if you kind and gentle (like belle) hence if you partner is abusive it is your fault
what are your opinions on this?

3) do you think the fact that disney had belle as a book worm a
positive or negative representation?

4) how do you think women in disney have changed from the first
heroine Snow White?

Any other opinions and comments on the subject would be great!
Thankyou
Student (UK!)

Marisa luvs Mickey
12-07-2004, 04:58 PM
Originally posted by Marisa luvs Mickey:
</font><blockquote>quote:</font><hr />Originally posted by Bobs:

young women?

I don't get it. How exactly does one portray a message?

2) Ariel was critised... Belle was critised...

I think it is rather silly to criticize fictional, cartoon people.

Representation of what? Bookworms?

heroine Snow White?

They sing better songs. Especially when they sing Ashman & Menken songs.

</font>[/QUOTE]

ChipnDaleGal
12-07-2004, 10:19 PM
I think it would be very nice if we all tried to answer these questions in the spirit in which they were asked. This is a legitimate request for help with a school project. Please keep that in mind when answering. graemlins/mickey.gif