PDA

View Full Version : What has happened to the food?

goofyskier
01-18-2016, 10:37 AM
It's been a few years since my last trip but wow what a difference in the quality of the food at Disneyworld. Now I am not a culanary expert by any means but I do know good quality food when I am eating it. Disney it seems as cheapened its product to the point that it is no better then chain restaurants. Mind you I don't have a problem if that how they want to brand themselves but, when you are charging top dollar for what is defined as "signature" dining experiences; my expectation is that the dish meets the discription. If this last trip is a true representation of the way things are going, I may find myself looking for other options well outside of Disney on any future trips.

Fangorn
01-18-2016, 11:48 AM
Unfortunately, it is, IMHO, an ongoing trend. There are still a few bright spots, and dishes, at Disney restaurants, but for the most part, the quality has gone down over the past several years. On our last trip in December, our best meals were at the new places in Disney Springs - Boathouse and Morimoto's. Neither of these are Disney owned or operated and were vastly superior to anywhere else we ate. Our old favorites just don't make the cut - other than the nostalgia aspect - anymore.

Personally, I blame the decrease in quality (and variety) on Disney's hype and marketing of the Dining Plan. Restaurants accepting the DDP are paid a fixed amount when the plan is used. Each restaurant is it's own profit center and consequently the chef is required to create meals whose cost comes in at, or below some arbitrary price point. The result is a tendency toward standardized dishes and the use of lower quality ingredients in order to save money. I've found that if I want something unique and better tasting my best bet is to go with appetizers. They aren't covered by the DDP and hence don't have the caps and restrictions (other than market forces) on them.

Steve

SurferStitch