PDA

View Full Version : Putting your pet down

Tiggerlovr9000
06-13-2014, 10:35 PM
Has anyone else had to do this. Our cat boots was 17 and we put her down today. She was suffering and there wasn't nothing we could do for her. I have never done this before. We had her the longest of any of our other cats.. Just not sure how to feel about what we did. I miss her so much.

tinkwest
06-13-2014, 10:47 PM
As an adult, have done it with two of our dogs and one cat. Didn't feel bad, due to the circumstances, but certainly felt sad. It's a hard decision to make because you so want to cling to the ones you love.

Mrs Bus Driver
06-13-2014, 11:24 PM
I am in my 50's, in my life time I've had 4 pets put down. First was Debbie a Lassie look alike, I must have been about 7 or 8. She was 12 and had severe arthritis. It had reached a point where she could no longer walk with out help. So my parents put her down explaining that this was a kindness. We all cried, my older sister took it the hardest as she and the dog were about the same age. I believe my parents did the right thing. To this day I still remember Debbie. I had a 20 year old cat that was no longer digesting food and was going to starve to death, not the kind of thing I was willing to put her through. A small dog that was attracted by 2 boxers and injured to badly to recover. And a couple of years ago a 17 year old cat with tumors. I loved all these pets and remember them they have enriched my life. I understand how you feel but there are times when you just can't stand by and let your pet friend suffer. Just like my parents said sometimes its the kindest thing you can do.

Tiggerlovr9000
06-14-2014, 07:12 AM
Thank you for your replies. I know it was the right thing to do, but it's just so fresh right now. Part of loving is also sadness.

Katzateer
06-14-2014, 07:59 AM