PDA

View Full Version : Plans for moving to FL

Dsnygirl
03-01-2014, 04:57 PM
Hi all...

Over the years, I have posted many times of our desire to move south... we have considered NC & FL, for the most part. NC got ruled out for various reasons over the years, and Florida has had to wait for just as many reasons.

But I believe we have finally gotten to a place where we are seriously planning a move, and just had to share the excitement!

Our oldest daughter really wants to finish HS here (she is finishing her sophomore yr right now & is very active in her drama group, so I can't blame her) so we are waiting on her... but that also gives us the time we need to get work done on our house, and for my DH to find the RIGHT job, not just A job to get us down there. (I am a nurse, so have to real concerns about finding work once we're locked into a time frame)

Our youngest daughter is in 7th grade, and would move tomorrow, is we could... we'll see how she feels as it all gets closer and more "real"! ;)

So... lots to consider, plan and work on.... but it's exciting! Finally!! :D

Melanie
03-01-2014, 05:30 PM
We might be on the same track, Blythe, if we can get youngest DS on board. We are counting the days until my hubby retires from the military and we can go back home! If anything, these past almost 2 years in Virginia have solidified that Florida is OUR home. We're both from different places, so we were never really sure where we'd retire, until we lived in Tampa. We know it's right.

Our oldest is also a sophomore, so we just can't move him before he graduates. They've both moved enough. But if we can talk/bribe youngest into moving after his sophomore year...we're so there. If not, we're looking at 4 more years. DH can retire in 1.5 years, so that is actually another factor.

Anyway, best of luck getting prepared for the move. That's a big step for you guys. :)

BrerGnat
03-01-2014, 06:21 PM