PDA

View Full Version : The Beauty of Animal Kingdom

MrPeetrie
02-20-2014, 01:35 PM
Back in '99, my DW & I took our first trip to Walt Disney World. As a couple of "newbs," we asked others with experience what to do and what not to do.

"Get ADRs. Skip Animal Kingdom," were the most common replies.

We did both. In 2000, we stayed on property for an extended stay and managed one visit to AK. Both of us were underwhelmed, as we were searching for more Magic Kingdom-like attractions.

However, as the years passed and we've had children, this park has grown to be one of our favorites. For starters, both of our children LOVE it here, so that's a big plus. But there's so much more. Animal Kingdom is so full of hidden gems that I don't think you can find them all in a full day. There are hidden trails, unusual and beautiful foliage, waterfalls, and streams throughout. The attention to detail is simply amazing.

I'm a contractor, so I notice things the other people may not. For instance, the pathway in Africa is designed to look like rutted mud, with roots growing out. You have no idea how difficult a procedure that is to achieve that look. My wife is tired of hearing me rave about the concrete work.

Same with Chester & Hester's ground. It looks like decaying asphalt. But it's not. It's actually colored concrete distressed to appear to be crumbling. That is amazing concrete work. (You can't have asphalt walkways in the Florida sun.)

The other day, while I was missing my favorite vacation spot, I searched some YouTube videos to get my "fix." One poster, who is probably my favorite, did an amazing walk through AK that nearly moved me to tears. The poster had such detail; found paths I've never seen.