PDA

View Full Version : Magic Kingdom on the 4th of July?

kelly.garrett
02-18-2014, 06:24 AM
My cousin and her family have booked a 7-day trip to WDW in July, arriving just before the 4th. They are staying off-property and renting a car.

They are interested in going to the MK on the 4th of July, and they are wondering how early they should arrive at the park. Do they need to worry about the park reaching maximum capacity?

I have no experience going to WDW at this time of year, and I couldn't answer their questions; however, I knew some of you amazing Intercot members would be willing to share your experiences. :mickey:

faline
02-18-2014, 08:00 AM
Yes, the Magic Kingdom could reach capacity on the 4th of July. When crowds begin to build, Disney uses a system of tiered closings. The first to be refused admittance will be those who are staying off-site and driving into the parking lot. If they plan to visit the Magic Kingdon on the 4th of July, I'd suggest they arrive first thing in the morning (possibly before official opening time) and plan to stay for the duration.

indytraveler
02-18-2014, 08:37 AM
My family went to WDW for several years around the 4th of July. Plus we stayed off property too. This seemed to work for us and we use it still to this day when looking at which parks to attend on certain days.

1. Look at which days have EMH. Whatever day has morning EMH stay away from that park that day. Reason since you are not staying on property you have to assume 25% of guests will use it that day. so when you arrive the park feels "full". Same for EMH - evening. Show up the next morning.

2. Go the next day to that park. Since EMH were the day before I always felt safe showing up the next day.

3. Assume the worst crowds possible that day. If you put it in your mind that your wait times will be around 1 hr for every ride, you'll be pleasantly surprised when they are only 1/2 that time.