PDA

View Full Version : Where To Stay For Races

Luv4WDW
02-04-2014, 01:40 PM
I am planning on running in the Wine and Dine Half Marathon this year (SO excited!!). I have never done a Disney race before. We will be taking DME, so we won't have a rental car. I know there are certain hotels recommended for races that are priced for participants. Are these the only hotels with transportation to and from both the race expo and the race itself? How does it work if you stay at a different hotel on property? Thanks!

disneygoofball
02-07-2014, 12:44 PM
All the Disney hotels on property have transportation to the events. We stayed at Pop Century for Marathon weekend and loved it. The reasons we liked it so much were:
1. They have Powerade as fountain beverage - so free refills with the resort mug. (surprisingly, of all the other food courts we visited - CS, AoA, Poly, POR, POFQ, & WL - only one had Powerade.)
2. Most of the time we had our own bus line (sometimes it was shared with AoA).
3. The resort was located near ESPN (for the expo) and relatively close to Epcot where the races all started and finished.

If we had the money, I would have loved to stay at Boardwalk or Yacht & Beach club. They had prime locations within walking distance of Epcot and the course. I don't know what the Wine & Dine course is, but I would think it's also centered around Epcot. And staying on property is the way to go. We had to get up early to get to the bus and into start corrals on time, but trying to drive in from off property looked like it would have been a nightmare.

Hopefully someone who stayed at a hotel off property will come by and help you out. I have no idea what the transportation options are from non-Disney hotels.

clausjo
02-07-2014, 02:51 PM