PDA

View Full Version : New post, old topic... trying to move to Florida... ;)

Dsnygirl
02-28-2013, 04:49 PM
So, this topic seems to come up quite often around here, but I haven't seen a post about it in awhile, so thought I'd be the first to bring it up this year! :blush:

Short version - we are considering a move to Florida. Again. ;) We've considered moving south for years, but mostly we considered NC... over the past few years, it's become more clear that Florida is where we'd like to be long-term.

We have had many reasons for staying where we are, but they're changing, and we're considering making the jump earlier than planned because of it.

Anyone else in this place right now?

My husband is the one who has to find work first, as I'm a nurse and I've already found numerous positions I could probably jump right into. He's an engineer, and while there are NUMEROUS engineering firms, there are so many specialties and sub-specialties to his work/ what's out there that it gets crazy, esp as he just starts looking/figuring it all out.

As well, we have quite a few things we need to do to our house to have it ready to sell - things we knew we could take our time with before, as we've been on a "after the girls graduate" plan, which is 6 yrs from now. Accelerating the process and trying to keep it good for them means trying to pull this off before school starts in August... so that's quite a rush on the house front.

If it's the right thing for us and meant to be, I know everything will fall into place... and am content with that. But just thought it'd be nice to start a thread for any of us in the same boat!! :D

BrerGnat
02-28-2013, 05:06 PM
I'm not in the same boat, but I wish you luck if you decide to do it.

TinkerbellT421
02-28-2013, 05:15 PM
Not in the same boat, yet. We've toyed with the idea, but that's eons from now. Just wanted to wish you luck in the quest though! :mickey:

Christine
02-28-2013, 07:17 PM
One word: c'mon!!!!! :mickey:

Ed