PDA

View Full Version : Tips for first time runner?

NewDVCowner
02-08-2013, 03:24 PM
I've signed up for the Disneyland Half in September and this is my first marathon. Does anyone have any tips to share? I know the whole idea of eating a carb heavy meal beforehand - but then I get stumped, is that one day before, or two? Any tips at all would be greatly appreciated. :mickey:

Christine
02-09-2013, 10:59 PM
I really don't do the carb loading thing the day(s) before the run. But I'll todo you my tips for eating the day of. I have half a bagel with peanut butter, a banana, and some coffee. Works wonders- I stay full and don't her a tummy ache.

Ill see ya in Disneyland!

badkitty
02-10-2013, 01:14 AM
I am new to the running scene (I only began the summer of 2011) but have found a lot of great stuff online and in running magazines. Check out the runDisney website and the runDisney blog. Lots of tips from trainers and nutritionists. I also love Jeff Galloway's website for informantion on running injury-free.

I don't do the carb loading either and agree with Christine for race-day.

The advice that works for me the day before is to eat only easily digested foods that don't have a lot of bulk after 2pm and not to introduce any new foods.

Also, practice running in your entire race-day attire. That way you know in advance what works and what doesn't.

I'm doing the 10K this year (opted out of the half because I didn't think I could do both) but I'll be cheering you on at mile 12 (I'm staying at the Anaheim Plaza).

Have fun with your training!

DisneyDINK
02-25-2013, 12:11 PM
I've done 20+ Halfs, 8 Marathons and lots of triathlons. IMHO - carbo-loading the day before or two days before isn't that important, not for a Half marathon at least.