PDA

View Full Version : Too Many Acronyms for Things at the Park?

Super Ninja
03-22-2012, 09:55 AM
Just pointing out the obvious, but I think this is getting slightly ridiculous. I mean obviously stuff like MK for Magic Kingdom and DHS for Disney Hollywood Studios is OK, but I don't think we need one for every single attraction. If I say at MK I rode on PTC, HM, SWSA, ISW, PPF, WP, SM, SM, BTR and watched CBJ, HOP, and the ELP. I don't think most people will be able to read and comprehend that as fast as a regular sentence, which kind of defeats the purpose of using acronyms in the first place.

Belle of the Ball 051411
03-22-2012, 10:02 AM
I'm new to Intercot and have had a little trouble with some of the acronyms. So thank you for your post!

Maybe someone could make a *sticky* cheat sheet?!

Jim&AngieMarriner
03-22-2012, 10:06 AM
I guess Ive been here to long, I had no problem reading that at all. But then again, being a career Army guy, im used to Acronyms anyway so it might not be that much of a stretch.

SBETigg
03-22-2012, 10:10 AM
There is a cheat sheet at Info Central, but I'll make it easy for you. List of Abbreviations (http://www.intercot.com/infocentral/abbreviations/default.asp).

But actually, I think you're both newer and in time, you catch on. I tend to avoid using the acronyms because I was an English major and I'm stuck in old habits of typing things out and trying to be grammatically correct. But, for the most part, people on message boards and in texting use the short ways of doing things. Welcome to Intercot! Spend some time here and you'll learn the language. :)

PopPhan
03-22-2012, 10:10 AM
MOST of the acronyms are listed under the Info Central tab...

Abbreviations
-What does it all mean?

http://www.intercot.com/infocentral/abbreviations/default.asp

Some, like FLE ==>> Fantasy Land Expansion, haven't made it on the list as yet, but you will find the majority under that link.

Belle of the Ball 051411
03-22-2012, 10:15 AM