PDA

View Full Version : Help deciding on new camera

We LOVE Disney
01-05-2012, 09:37 AM
Hi

I am on the hunt for a new camera. I've only ever owned a point and shoot and am looking to upgrade, but not to a huge DSLR. I'm looking at what they call a "bridge" camera which is something in between a point and shoot and a DSLR. I am by no means a camera expert and am only giving information based on what I've read and played with at the store (so I'm sure I won't be using correct terms most of the time :blush:).

I have it narrowed down to 2 (so far):

Canon Powershot 30IS:
I've heard that Canon is the best in picture quality, even when zoomed out to the 35x that it offers. I'm having a hard time with the dial thing on the back and I don't like the way the panoramic picture taking is on this (you have to stitch the pictures together and you can't see the actual panoramic picture you just took until you get it onto the computer).

Sony Cybershot HX100: I believe I love everything about this one. it has a burst mode that is super fast (I have a daughter in competitive cheer and son in soccer). The panoramic feature on this is awesome, all you have to do is push the button and "sweep" the camera either back and forth or up and down.

Like I said, I really like the panoramic and burst features on the Sony. However, I keep asking myself how often will I really that feature and is it worth the $100 more than the Canon.

Does anyone out there have any experience with either of these cameras. Also, if you have a suggestion to try out another one, please let me know.

Thanks for your help.

bjbunny
01-05-2012, 11:44 AM
We have the Sony and love it. The panorama mode is definitely great. The burst mode is really fast, but only shoots for a second, then you have to wait to shoot again. Image quality is good unless you like to zoom in to 100% alot, then it's not so great. From reviews I've seen of the Canon, the quality on that isn't great either.

Ian
01-05-2012, 01:36 PM