PDA

View Full Version : Brining and cooking a turkey for the first time - Help!

laprana
12-12-2011, 02:52 PM
This year for Christmas dinner, I have volunteered to cook the turkey...something I've never done before, so I'm a little nervous! I'll be cooking just a turkey breast, not a whole turkey, and I'm planning on brining it beforehand. I have what looks like a good recipe for the brine, but I'm looking for any tips on the best way to actually cook the turkey breast.

Should I use oven bags? Tin foil? Do I need to use a fork to poke some holes in the turkey breast before brining to make sure the liquid soaks in, or no holes? Should I rinse the turkey off after taking it out of the brine before cooking it?

I'll take any tips or brine recipes you can share! I just don't want to mess it up and have a turkey bomb for Christmas dinner! I keep having visions of the scene in the movie "Christmas Vacation" where Clark Griswold cuts into the turkey that Catherine (cousin Eddie's wife) cooked and it disintigrates! :eek: :D Thanks for any help you can offer!!

DisneyDog
12-12-2011, 03:05 PM
I always use oven bags. They are the most wonderful invention. Your turkey will be very juicy and you will get a lot of gravy from it. Just brush it will a little olive oil and some herb seasonings on top, pop it in the bag and you will be good to go!:thumbsup:

BrerGnat
12-12-2011, 03:25 PM
Skip the brine, unless you want your turkey to taste like ham! Most turkey breast are already sort of pre-brined. They contain a solution of salt/sugar/water. It's difficult to find one that does NOT have it. Brining on top of that will make your turkey excessively salty. I did it one year and never did it again (I cook a turkey breast every year).

Here is my suggestion, after doing this for over 10 years: