PDA

View Full Version : Cell Phone Reception in Parks

IamaDisneyFan
11-03-2011, 06:29 PM
My parents are in Disney right now and have had a lot of problems with their AT&T cell phone signals. Calls keep dropping or there is no signal at all. It is through all of the World. They wanted me to see if anyone else is currently experiencing problems as well or have had problems in the past.

TIA

Also, sorry if this is the wrong spot for the post. I wasn't sure where to put it.

LauraByTheSea
11-03-2011, 06:38 PM
Do they have iPhones? I've been having problems the last 2 days with the network, but was just in WDW last week and had no trouble whatsoever. Except inside rides, but that's kind of expected...

VWL Mom
11-03-2011, 06:48 PM
I'm no expert by far but are they trying to call up north when they have problems? AT&T still has power problems with their cell towers in NJ and CT (from the storm) so maybe that has something to do with it?

IamaDisneyFan
11-03-2011, 06:53 PM
They do not have smart phones/iphones. Just regular, simple phones. And the problems have only been the last day or two, so I don't think it's from the storm. They are calling me in PA, so I don't think the towers in NJ would be affecting us. I have no idea about phones though, so maybe that is it. :confused:

Itchy
11-03-2011, 07:04 PM
Well it may be the carrier. My personal phone is a verizon and I had no issues in the parks and very minimal at the resorts in the rooms.

When I was still working my work cell was an ATT phone and it did not have the same signal that my phone had. I carried both and would compare from time to time.

Verizon may be better since Disney has an application for their smart phones for park information that the other services do not have.

Hope this helps..:mickey:

texas211
11-03-2011, 07:11 PM
I have sprint, and unfortunately, work has no problem contacting, texting or emailing me while there.

greengeen
11-03-2011, 07:40 PM