PDA

View Full Version : 10 Month Old at WDW?

schoolbread
10-17-2011, 09:45 AM
Hello! I've been getting amazing information from all of you for quite some time but this is my first time ever posting. My husband and I have been coming to WDW for years and January will be our very first trip with our new child! I'm curious if anyone else has taken a 10 month old to the parks and if you have good advice to share.

We know this will be a VERY DIFFERENT trip for us. We're not expecting to run all over Epcot drinking beers or to have the luxury to be in MK and spontaneously decide to jump on a bus and go to AK for lunch.

We love going for walks in our neighborhood, so we're just thinking about this trip as going on a nice "walk" every day and if we get to hit a ride or two then that's just a bonus for us. Are we setting our expectations too low, or does this sound accurate?

diz_girl
10-17-2011, 10:17 AM
:welcome: to Intercot.

I'll be bringing a 10-month old next month, so I'll be interested in the replies too. I've brought a 17-month old and I made use of the baby changing stations in each park. AK has the best station. It's best to stick to their normal routine for meals and naptimes as best you can. You may also want to take a break mid-day and go back to your hotel to help prevent your child from getting over-stimulated.

You do have a good plan, so your expectations aren't too high, but they may be too low. But if your expectation is to enjoy WDW with your new baby, no more, no less, then your expectations are just right. You can take the baby on pretty much every ride that doesn't have a height restriction, so you will probably be able to do more than you think. Actually, a 10-month old is more manageable than a toddler, so eating in reataurants are enjoyable.

Have a great time!

Dyanna
10-17-2011, 11:00 AM
Congrats on the birth of your 1st child. Very exciting times!