PDA

View Full Version : Any cyclists???

Kenny1113
10-10-2011, 06:17 PM
DH rides a road bike pretty regularly. I am trying to figure out some Christmas gifts for him (getting a head start ;) ) I need opinions on iBike for iPhone vs a separate computer (garamin, Polaris etc). Any info is greatly appreciated. TIA

BrerGnat
10-11-2011, 12:56 PM
I guess it depends on how much information you think he would want in a computer. I have a very basic cyclo-computer on my road bike. It's a Bell brand, and I got it at Target for about $20. It tells me everything I need to know: speed (current, average, and min/max), distance, pace, time, odometer, outside temperature, calories/fat grams burned. It works flawlessly.

The more involved ones have onboard GPS, but I think that's a bit much, unless he does some really loooong rides! I have no experience using the iphone apps, but I'd stay away from that sort of thing, because it's not as easy to view than a basic handlebar mounted computer.

A Big Kid
10-11-2011, 04:49 PM
Cant have enough socks, gloves, GOOD bib shorts and jerseys.

c&d
10-12-2011, 09:10 AM
I've found when I can't figure out what I really want I go to my bike store. They've always been really good at helping me decide. I would start with them since they will be able to tell you all about the computers available. Also being in the store I always find several items I didn't know I needed. :blush:

dpamac
10-12-2011, 10:05 AM
I agree with A Big Kid on socks and bibs. Especially socks. I wear through those things like crazy.