PDA

View Full Version : What was your first . . .

Janmac
09-06-2011, 10:05 PM
Car?

Mine was a 1964 Ford Fairlane that I paid $75 for when I was 19. And then turned around and paid another $75 for a valve job. Boy howdy did that car have some get up and go then.

Btw, that rear wheel drive car was awesome in snow. DH and I used to confound the fellas in the 4 wd trucks, tooling around in that plain old car.

DH crumpled the front passenger fender in 1975 or 76 and that pretty effectively totaled the car. At least from an insurance point of view.

Had a 260 V-8 in it. Nice little engine.

Jan

Disney Hungarian
09-06-2011, 10:10 PM
1961 VW beetle. The engine was in a box and I had to put it together. It had the 6 volt electronics and a folding sunroof like Herbie. I sure do miss that piece of junk. Was so much fun.

Briansmom
09-06-2011, 11:22 PM
When I graduated from high school in 1978, my mom bought me a 1968 Plymouth Valiant for $500. That was all she could afford as a single mom. Boy, I thought I was hot stuff! Broke down many a nite on the way home from my closing shift at Tomorrowland Terrace (now Cosmic Ray's) (more like many a morning as we got off at 2 am!!) Things were definitely different back than as I wouldnt dare walk that back road to the employee tunnel entrance in the middle of the nite now by myself, much less go up to a lone house and yell up at someone's 2nd floor window (that's where I saw lights) to ask to use their phone! Also, walked on Interstate 4 to the nearest exit to find a phone too. That car could have been dangerous to my health! Wow....havent thought about that in a looong time! Thanks for this post!

SBETigg
09-07-2011, 07:08 AM