PDA

View Full Version : Life change - back to nursing!

Tinkermom
04-15-2011, 08:53 PM
I have worked in ministry for over 12 years now (children's ministry) but after much discussion with my family and lots of prayer I have decided to go back to nursing. I worked as a pediatric RN for close to 10 years. I have been out of nursing now for 14 years but I have been accepted into an RN refresher program at our local community college. I start the program in September and will have my RN license again by Christmas or so!

There are lots of reasons for why I have decided to leave ministry and go back to nursing. I have been feeling very drained lately and am truly burned out with trying to find and manage volunteers. I work for a large church and manage about 200 volunteers as well as write all of our curriculum for about 700 elementary kiddos. In addition to this we have 3 children, 2 of whom will be heading off to college in 2 and 3 years. Currently I put in full time + hours but only get paid part time. An increase in my salary as a nurse will be very helpful!

I will remain on staff at my church through the summer. It has been a very stressful time lately as this decision was a difficult one. I am really excited but also apprehensive. Prayers and pixie dust appreciated! :mickey:

Dopey's Girl
04-15-2011, 11:56 PM
Best of luck!

ibelieveindisneymagic
04-16-2011, 06:34 AM
Wow! I have worked in CM for years, but nothing on the scale you've done.

I can completely understand being drained, and the $$ (I was only paid part-time for a full-time job too!). I hope that the transition back to nursing is smooth, both for you and your church.

Melanie
04-16-2011, 07:51 AM
Best of luck Lisa! Sounds like your heart is telling you what is right. Enjoy your new (old) journey!

Jillirose
04-16-2011, 09:27 AM