PDA

View Full Version : Real Estate in the WDW area

Jim&AngieMarriner
04-06-2011, 09:13 AM
Hey everyone. I have a question for the folks who live in the WDW area. I will be retiring from Active Duty Army in about two years. My goal is to get a mid level job with WDW in an Anti-Terrorism/Force protection field. I have 17 years experience in Military Intelligence so i have high hopes about my prospects. ANYWAY.... I would like to start looking around for property in commuting distance. No more than say 20 Mins away. What city/towns would be best to get a nice 4 bedroom house? DW and I looked in Celebration last night and there were some decent houses but most were bank owned and were also Short Term Rentals. I know I have a LONG time before i really need to figure this out but I feel the need to plan. Its the military in me I guess.

Any advice you have is deffinately welcome, especially of where NOT to live. Thanks.

If this thread doesnt belong in here, Mods please move it.

azcavalier
04-06-2011, 10:33 AM
I do *not* live in the WDW area I live in SW Virginia), nor do I know what neighborhoods are good or bad. However, last week I saw an article about how the economy/real estate bubble bursting has left 20% of homes in Florida vacant. So, I got online and started looking at homes in Orlando/Kissimmee area. I was finding 3000 - 4000 sq. foot homes for $250K or less, depending on how new they were. Makes me mad. I live in an area where the bubble didn't burst. It still takes a long time to sell something here, but it didn't affect the value. Nice to know i'm not under water on my home, but you could live somewhere else (like Orlando) in a nicer house, for a lot less than you can here.

sassafras
04-06-2011, 11:19 AM