PDA

View Full Version : Graduate School--Prayers and Pixie Dust

White Rose
03-07-2011, 01:15 PM
Hello to all of you!

I'm not sure if any of you know, but I graduated last year with a BA in History from a small, private, liberal arts college. I absolutely adore history and originally intended to teach high school social studies. Plans changed somewhat, and I still want to teach but at a college level. Last year, during my senior year, I was quickly approaching burn out and thus, did not spend nearly as much time as I should have applying to graduate schools and was thus rejected from the two I applied to. I also had HORRID GRE scores, despite the 3.98 GPA.

This year, I've been much better. I have two fabulous jobs and it's been so wonderful for my mental well being to just work and not worry about school. I applied again this year, to two different PhD programs and have just recently found out I was rejected again. But, no fear! I finally bit the bullet and I'm applying to a MA program for History. I really wanted to go straight into a doctoral program but with the economy the way it is, it may be better to just get the MA first...

Anyway, I'm asking for some prayers/pixie dust that I get into this MA program. It's one of my last shots. It's also close to my parents and two of my best friends are attending there.

I'm also kind of sad right now and trying not to be down in the dumps. So, yes, any good thoughts my way would be appreciated.

Thanks so much in advance!

UCJen
03-07-2011, 01:53 PM
:pixie: I'll be keeping my fingers crossed for you. I hate the wait.

At my school, they only take about 8-10 applicants per year for the PhD program, so I know how competitive it can be.

I am finishing up my MA in June. It's been a crazy two years, honestly.

Here is my take, you never know what opportunities will present themselves in the master's program. Sometimes things that look less-than-ideal on the surface, turn out to be fantastic opportunities in disguise.