PDA

View Full Version : Are you a parent AND a teacher?

BelleKP
02-17-2011, 11:05 PM
I've been an elementary teacher for over 10 years now and I've had my share of students whose parents were teachers. I used to dread those interviews, because they always seemed to think they knew their child's academic abilities better than me, and somehow I, the teacher, had it wrong . . .

But now here I am on the other side of the desk, so to speak, and my DD is in grade one. She received her first 'real' report card and I, the parent (and teacher), am unhappy with the marks. Don't get me wrong, she's a good student and I'm well aware it's 'only' grade one . . . but I still don't feel like her marks reflect her ability and I'm having a really hard time being in this role. I would love to defer to my DH, but it's hard to relinquish being involved in her learning, when it's so much a part of who I am.

So how do you handle this? Being a teacher AND a parent? How do you handle putting the role of being a parent ahead of your education/training? And how do you stay in the parent role when talking to your child's teacher about your questions/concerns?

Thanks for your understanding and support!

DizneyRox
02-18-2011, 07:19 AM
Yeah, that's a tough one.

I've got a couple friends who are integrated into the profession. I kindof got a kick out of a few incidents they were having with their child. Of course it was the other kids, not their precious... No way, not even a consideration.

Turns out, it was... precious that is...

I could have told them that, but far be it from me to tell someone how to parent their child.

Sometimes it takes an outsider to see ALL the clues. Not saying there aren't bad teachers out there, but often perceptions are clouded by emotion. There's a lot of emotion involved between parents and children.

cer
02-18-2011, 09:10 AM
I used to teach. Not long, though. My parents are retired elementary teachers as well, so I feel somehow experienced to offer advice.