PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about going back to college - Eek!

roses
01-15-2011, 02:31 PM
:sick: Okay - so I'm really nervous about this. I never finished my degree - never really knew what I wanted to major in. Well - that's not true. I wanted to go to school for Travel and Toursim but no one supported me on it. So I tried all sorts of things - don't get me wrong, I was good at them (not to toot my own horn). I tried Computer Science - I exceled in it - but it wasn't for me. Tried Culinary Arts, again, was good at it but not what I wanted to do for a career (though people really like to come over for dinner now haha). So its been 8 years or so, and I've been working in the amuesment park industry for 15 years in the food service division. 15 years is a long time in that industry.... all the stress and long hours has worn me down. And I think, maybe I'm wrong, its time to do what I want to do (with still finding a job to support myself and my daughter while I do this). I am considering going back to school to get a Associates in Arts with a concentration in Hospitality, Travel, and Tourism. Then a BS in Hospitality. I know from experience I will have to leave my job, and find another that I can go to school and work. My job just entails too much time dedicated to there. And I've become more of a number - and without a degree there is no room to move up anyway. And to be completely honest. I am not happy with the company or my job any longer.

So, Am I going crazy?? Oh, I hope I am making the right decision... What do you think?

NewDVCowner
01-17-2011, 12:03 PM