PDA

View Full Version : Skin irritation help

caryrae
10-28-2010, 06:27 PM
Occasionally at work we have to grout with an epoxy grout and every time we do I get a allergic reaction on my skin, mostly my knees and forearms. It can itch pretty bad sometimes and have tried different products like cortizone 10, benadryl pills, and a Eucerin lotion but they don't seem to work to good. Does anyone have any other suggestions that they find works? It has been going on for about 5 days now.

Disney Hungarian
10-28-2010, 06:34 PM
Lidocaine will work wonders.:mickey:

Fine print:
Please note that I am not a doctor nor am I in any way trying to diagnose or treat your ailment.

cather74
10-28-2010, 07:28 PM
Go to a dermatologist. They have some good miracle creams.

luvmyboys4ever
10-28-2010, 07:48 PM
We use LMX 4% for all of our skin irritations. It's a topical anesthetic cream. It numbs the area, so you won't feel the need to scratch and infect the area any further. We first learned of it when our son needed a staple in his head. The nurse put the cream on his cut and let it sit for 30 minutes or so...then, she came back and put the staple in...my son never felt a thing! He was 5 at the time, so it was a blessing.
The last time we used it was on a crabbing trip. My mother had her finger cut pretty deep by a crab's pincher. I put the cream on and covered it with a band-aid, and she didn't feel it again for the rest of the day. She thought it was amazing since crabbing is a dirty activity, with salwater and fish guts galore...lol!
It is over the counter and comes in 5% if you need something a little stronger. It can be a little expensive, so look around for deals online. It's worth it!

citizensnoopy
10-28-2010, 08:01 PM