PDA

View Full Version : Does this upset anyone else??

Mickey'sIrishPAl
10-20-2010, 12:49 PM
I love all things Disney and never have complaints, but after a recent trip I was really starting to get upset with a recurring theme when it came to leaving the parks and jumping ona bus back to the hotel.
First off, I do not want anyone to misconstrue what I am telling you because I am totally in favor of those who are physically disabled getting special treatment as far as getting on a bus first ( I am an administrator for an agency that houses individuals with disablilities). But there were 2 instances where myself along with a line full of others were not so happy.
We stood in line at MK for close to 20 minutes. Kids are tired, we're tired, and there are close to 80 others just like us in line. A bus finally pulls up and as we are waiting for the door to open, a family of 12 come running up the handicap accessible rear of the bus. There was a young man in a wheelchair with an elderly woman pushing him and 10 other family members standing in wait for the rear door to open. OK, this is fine. What I saw next is what upset me. The teenage boy stands up from the wheelchair and allows the elderly woman to sit in the wheelchair to allow immediate entrance on the bus. Wait a minute??? The older woman pushed this young man from (at least) the bus stop # sign to this stop (AKKV bus stop) but all of a sudden, she is unable to enter the bus like the rest of us?? Needless to say, We did not make that bus and had to wait for another to arrive but I thought that was unacceptable.
Again, I hope that no one misinterprets my words as thinking that I am not compassionate or understandign about disabilities but I thought that was just not right.

MississippiDisneyFreak
10-20-2010, 01:12 PM
It does sound bad...maybe there was an honest explanation though...