PDA

View Full Version : Teaching Evaluations

Dulcee
10-06-2010, 07:56 PM
So some of you may remember I'm a new graduate student. As a graduate student I'm required to TA two freshmen/sophomore level biology labs.

I was really hesitant about this before starting. I've never considered myself a teacher and wasn't really looking forward to my first experience being with a bunch of freshmen.

Six weeks later I really enjoy it. I have sole control over my syllabus, quizzes, grading, lecturing ect. The kids are great and it still amazes me I'm enjoying watching the kids "get" tough ideas and improve their technical writing skills.

Anyway, I decided to give them a chance to give me some feedback and gave them a survey to fill out on how lab has been for them.

Most of the results were great. They like me and think I'm doing a good job but a few negative ones are getting to me. And the worst of it is, is that the negative comments "you have unrealistic expectations of me" "you grade too hard" "you made me rethink that I can be a biology major" don't give any feedback on how I can make things better for them!

Its just frustrating and kind of a downer since I really thought I was doing a great job with these guys.

So any teachers out there? How do you handle those comments/negative reviews?

retiredfigment
10-06-2010, 09:30 PM
First of all, never do something like this unless you are ready to handle the negatives. There will always be some. You did not say if these were done anonymously. If you know who the students are, speak with them personally and ask them why they feel that way. If you don't know who wrote them make a general announcement inviting students to discuss grades, expectations with you. Unfortunately, the negative remarks might just be students who want the good grade without the work. Good luck!

cather74
10-07-2010, 06:36 AM