PDA

View Full Version : Free Wi-fi?

plutosnana
07-18-2010, 11:29 AM
Does WDW offer any free wi-fi?

:goofy:

Tekneek
07-18-2010, 11:46 AM
Supposedly there is free wifi in Innoventions East. I will try to remember to check when I am there at the end of the month.

It is certainly a perfect thing to offer in a place that was originally known as Communicore.

DizneyRox
07-18-2010, 12:33 PM
I'm unaware of that, however all other Disney sanctioned WiFi is NOT free. You may be able to pick up a few hotspots of people sharing out their room connections, etc, but I wouldn't rely on those, or trust them...

Tekneek
07-18-2010, 12:49 PM
...but I wouldn't rely on those, or trust them...

That is the bigger point. As a computer security professional, I would wager that any free wifi even in the vicinity of WDW has some bad guys sitting on it. It would also be important to know that SSL (HTTPS), by itself, is no longer an assurance of protection in all cases. It has been demonstrated that a man-in-the-middle attack, potentially imperceptible to the victim, can take place even with SSL connections these days. Don't use it for anything valuable.

BrerGnat
07-18-2010, 01:34 PM
There is most definitely FREE (as in, WDW hosted and paid for) Wi-Fi in the lobby of the Beach and Yacht Club Resorts. I know, because I used it on my iPod touch and netbook back in April. The signal extends out to Stormalong Bay as well.

As mentioned, this should not be used to conduct sensitive or financial transactions. But, I used it to check email, Facebook, and look up theme park and dining info online.

plutosnana
07-21-2010, 10:09 PM
Do u think they may have free internet in some of the non disney hotels/condos yet their on WDW property??

Figment1988
07-24-2010, 08:40 PM
Supposedly there is free wifi in Innoventions East. I will try to remember to check when I am there at the end of the month.

It is certainly a perfect thing to offer in a place that was originally known as Communicore.