PDA

View Full Version : Job interview advice?

TikiGoddess
05-13-2010, 09:59 AM
Hi all,

I have been teaching in the same town for ten years now. Unfortunately, budget woes and scheduling changes have taken my job teaching music from 4 days a week to 1.5 days a week.

I'm really disappointed to be leaving the district. I've really gotten to know the families, the staff, and the students. But it is time to move on.

I have an interview on Friday! I just happened to see the listing when I was helping my student teacher look for jobs. It's at a magnet school in Hartford. It's a small school with about 180 students, grades pre-k to 2. The school was founded in 2006 and has grown one grade each year, finishing with grade 3.

It will be a bit of a change for me but I know I'm ready for it. I'm nervous about the interview tomorrow (last time I interviewed for a job was ten years ago!). I just hope that the school and I are a good fit.

Any advice on how to have a good interview?

Spare pixie dust appreciated too... :)

Kathy

Jeniflower
05-13-2010, 11:26 AM
:pixie::pixie::pixie::pixie:
Remember three things Firstly interviews are all about selling yourself so don't be afraid to tell them how brilliant you are

Secondly listen to the questions. i know it sounds obvious but people tend to answer what they thing the interviewer wants to here and not what was actually asked.

Thirdly use examples from your current post that links both to the questions and the job description.

Finally just be yourself and you'll be fine

heaps of pixie dust and let us know how it turns out

SBETigg
05-13-2010, 11:30 AM
Jeniflower has great advice. I agree. Relax, be you, and don't be afraid to toot your own horn (no music teacher humor intended). Ask questions to find out more about the school, too. I hope it's a great fit!

:pixie:

NewDVCowner
05-13-2010, 12:02 PM