PDA

View Full Version : March is TOO LONG

lettripp
03-01-2010, 08:26 AM
I am a first year teacher and everyone keeps telling me that March is the LONGEST MONTH. There are no days off, state testing is in process and the kids get antsy with the monotony of it all. Well, to make matters worse, my WDW vacation is during the second week of April... making March feel even LONGER!!!

Do you have any tips on how to make this month go by faster? Reading and writing on INTERCOT have helped, but I want to get even MORE of a Disney fix every day up until the trip.

Ideas?

murphy1
03-01-2010, 08:29 AM
Can you do a lesson plan involving Disney or do some kind of Disney reading/learning assignment? That would be fun for you and your students! You could do some kind of math project, have them figure out cost of meal or souvenier items. Not sure what grade you teach, but just some thoughts.

SBETigg
03-01-2010, 08:50 AM
Plan a Disney-inspired meal once a week. You can get some ideas from the Recipes section under Dining in Info Central. It helps keep you in that Disney mood, but distracted by having to do the cooking. :) You can also serve it on Disney film night- pick a movie to go with your meal.

TikiGoddess
03-02-2010, 07:47 PM
I've been a teacher for 14 years now... and yes, March IS the longest month. Endless at times. Everyone is sick of winter, sick of being sick, tired of being inside, testing, etc.

I am beating the March blues by exercising more and finding new projects to work on. Each week I try out something that I've been wanting to do -- like giving up TV for a week, or trying new recipes for dinner. Plus end of the season sales get me out and about shopping. :)

Good luck! Hang in there, it will be April before you know it!

Kathy

PS noticed you're in CT -- me too!

Jennifer_and_Chris
03-02-2010, 09:33 PM
We do the Disney meal theme in our house. We pick a restaurant and find music to play while we are eating the meals from that restaruant.