PDA

View Full Version : Who is Getting the Flu Shot?

mjaclyn
11-08-2009, 03:01 PM
After much research and discussion, DH and I decided to have our children get the seasonal flu shot. Our DS is 6 months and DD just turned 3. After their shots they were both cranky and DD had a low fever, but both of them were fine by the next day. Our Pediatrician's office only had (at the time) the Nasal version of H1N1 which DS can't have because of his age, and I'm reluctant to get for DD. We're still deciding whether or not to get the H1N1 shots, but how many of you have gotten it (or have had your children get it)? Have you had any side effects or adverse reactions? I think we most likely will end up getting the H1N1 vaccine as well....I've read alot of information about it and I think it will make sense for us.

wdw_bound
11-08-2009, 03:13 PM
Our whole family (me, DH, DD and DS) have had the seasonal flu vaccine. We get it every year. I work in healthcare, and have seen people, from kids to adults to the elderly, get seasonal flu and suffer severe complications, up to and including death. Even people who "didn't think they needed the vaccine." After my first flu season in healthcare, I knew there was no way I could live with the guilt of having been able to protect my family and choosing not to, so we all get vaccinated.

As for the H1N1 vaccine, it is still very hard to find in our area. Our family will probably wait until it is more accessible so that people higher up on the CDC at-risk list can be vaccinated first.

scootch713
11-08-2009, 03:53 PM