PDA

View Full Version : Need snack help for peanut-free classroom!

alphamommy
10-27-2009, 11:41 PM
DD9 has a classmate who is allergic to peanuts, almonds, and poppy seeds. I have volunteered to bake something for the class Halloween party, and now I'm having second thoughts.

Since we aren't a nut-free house, how do I avoid cross-contamination? If I baked peanut butter cookies last Christmas, should I be worried about using the oven? What about mixing in bowls that may have had peanut butter in them in the past? Obviously, they've been washed since, but should I wash everything again, just to be sure?

Also, I was going to make boxed mix brownies (Betty Crocker). I've read the ingredients list, and there's nothing that sounds like it's nut-related to me, but I'm no expert. The only allergy warning on the package relates to wheat. If it's not safe to use the box mix, is there a recipe website that I could use?

Thanks for any help!

sportsguy2315
10-28-2009, 12:38 AM
Tammy,
As a former peanut allergen, I do have some words of wisdom for you. You should be fine with the brownies as most if not all food manufacturers now outline in bold any common allergens (Wheat, soy, peanut, etc.) at the bottom of the ingredient list. As for cross contamination, if you're concerned about the utensils from last Christmas, you should be fine, but I would wash them again to be safe rather than sorry.

jensantuit
10-28-2009, 08:51 AM
We have a couple of friends who have the peanut allergy and I've made brownies for them with a Betty Crocker box mix and had no troubles. I would just check the ingredients which it sounds like you have done. I don't think you need to worry about cross contamination, but if you are worried, you could always wash them again to be on the safe side.

Mickey'sGirl
10-28-2009, 09:20 AM
Schools in Ontario have been Nut free for at least the last decade, so any treats we send/prepare are Nut free.