PDA

View Full Version : Help!! Stray Kittens!!

mjaclyn
10-26-2009, 11:44 PM
A few hours ago I found two small kittens underneath my front steps. I was able to catch one of them, but the other one was too scared to come out. I haven't seen the mother at all so I'm not sure if she's completely gone or just out looking for food. I'm not sure how old the kitten is - the eyes are open and it's walking around so I think it's at least 3 weeks old. I'm scared though because it's been crying for awhile now and it won't eat anything. I think it may still be nursing. What should I do? I am not a cat person by any means and I have no experience with young kittens. I went to the store and bought some kitten food that I mixed with warm water but she's not interested in that at all. She's been meowing so much that her voice is hoarse and it's so sad! If she doesn't eat all night, will she die by the morning? I plan on bringing her to the animal shelter tomorrow and (hopefully) try to catch the other one as well.

I'm also worried because I have two small children and a dog in the house and I don't know if there are any possible diseases that we could catch from this kitten. Even though she is SO cute, she is still wild and could be carrying who knows what. DH and I are allergic to cats so I haven't picked her up at all - just gently grabbed her with a blanket to put her in the crate when I caught her an nothing else since. Is it okay for me to pick her up? I don't want to catch anything it could possibly have and I don't want to endanger my kids or my dog. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!

Pastcastmemberdaughter
10-27-2009, 12:42 AM
To get the kitten throught the night here are some suggestions I've had to use on newborn puppies/kittens before.