PDA

View Full Version : Changing reservations?

NewDVCowner
08-25-2009, 06:45 PM
Hey all,

So, I'm very new to this, I haven't yet used my points and am planning a trip next year. I haven't gotten to the 11 month mark so I haven't made reservations yet, but here's my question. Just how easy is it to change reservation dates. Here's the situation. Because of school schedules the best time for my family to go to WDW is in the super crazy week of Christmas. (Since the family lives on both coasts it's kind of a trip together/family reunion/celebrate the holiday together type thing.) I was planning on calling as soon as possible on February 1st to make that reservation and now I'm I'm starting to think 'what if I can't get it?' So, if I was to make a reservation for Thanksgiving week (yes, I know, also very busy) in January, and then call back in Feburary to get the December dates, how difficult is it to cancel the first reservation and get the second?

And now I'm wondering, since January 1st is a holiday are you still able to make reservations over the phone that day?

Thanks so much for all your help!

Aryn

VWL Mom
08-25-2009, 07:55 PM
I had to change my last trip and it wasn't bad at all. They usually check to see if what you want is available, go over the new points with you, cancel the old and book the new.

You may want to check your 11 month windows. If you are traveling November 24th your 11 month window would be December 24th not January 1. Same for Xmas time, 11 months prior to date of travel.

Also, if your not using your points this use year, don't forget to bank them on time so you don't lose them.

NewDVCowner
08-26-2009, 12:11 PM
Thanks very much for the quick response. I must have been mistaken on the timing, then. I thought that the booking window started on the first of the month 11 months out, so for, say, December 24th, the booking window would start February 1, not February 24th. Is that not correct?

Thanks again!

Aryn

VWL Mom