PDA

View Full Version : Question for Wine Lovers...

darthmacho
08-21-2009, 06:25 PM
:wine: Wine has become a recent obsession of ours. My wife and I have a "Wine and Cheese Night" every Tuesday after the kids go to bed. (Tuesday is my night off.)

Anyway, wine lovers, what is your favorite wine, and what do you like to pair it with, whether cheese or any other food?

My preference (though I'm a novice) so far has been a South American Malbec or Australian Shiraz, paired with a soft goat cheese, a smoked cheese, or dark chocolate. I also like gouda.

My wife seems to prefer whites like reisling or pinio grigio, and rose.

What are your preferences?

I can't wait to get back to Epcot to have wine in France, preferably with a dark chocolate pastry!

BrerStitch
08-21-2009, 09:17 PM
My wife's favorite is either a riesling, or any variety of icewine (nice of her to pick something EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE). We made some wine last year, though (fairly simple and loads of fun, if you're interested), and it was a gewurztraminer, which we both enjoyed. I was surprised I liked it, as my personal favorite is a nice, dry cabernet sauvignon. I usually pair it with a glass, and perhaps some television...:thedolls:

crazypoohbear
08-22-2009, 12:15 AM
I LOVE chardonnay's, I don't like the reislings or the gerts I find them too sweet. I like pino grigio in the summer because it is light and easy to drink in the heat!
My fav would be clos do bois chard
then would be kendall Jackson.
On a regular basis I would do the austrailian,
for cheap wines, yellow tail, bearfoot, robert mondavi,
I like to pair some with beefsteak tomato's and mozzarrala?
grapes, and a sharp cheese and crackers.
or strawberries,and melon.I think it's great that you are doing something special.
In my world chardonnay goes with anything and everything :mickey: